

#### STATEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS FOR THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CARE FIRST AND COMMUNITY INVESTMENT (CFCI) ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 22, 2021

#### 4:00PM

#### Prior to the start of the meeting, Myles Meshack, of the Chief Executive Office - Alternatives to Incarceration Unit (CEO-ATI), provided instructional information to Committee members and attendees.

Welcome and Call to Order.

## The meeting was called to order by Judge Songhai Armstead (CEO-ATI) at 4:09PM. Judge Armstead (CEO-ATI) called the roll.

Present: George Andrews, Songhai Armstead (non-voting member), Rafael Carbajal, Megan Castillo, Wesley Crunk, Cedric Nelms (as alternate for Victor Cyrus-Franklin), Betsy Lindsay (as alternate for Twima Early), Barbara Ferrer, Catherine Dingman (as alternate for Norma Garcia), Christina Ghaly, Eunisses Hernandez, Antonia Jimenez, Veronica Lewis, Ezekiel Nishiyama, Jared O'Brien, Jose Perez, D'Artagnan Scorza, Jonathan Sherin, Rosa Soto, Derek Steele, Reba Stevens, Dereck Smith (as alternate for April Verrett), Joseph (Joey) Williams

Absent: Member on behalf of SEIU Local 721

#### I. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

1. Introductions from CFCI Advisory Committee Members

#### II. PRESENTATIONS

**2.** Presentation by County Counsel on Brown Act, Robert's Rules of Order and California Proposition 209.

Tyson Nelson and Melodie Larsen of County Counsel presented information to the Committee Members and attendees about the Brown Act, Robert's Rules of Order, and Proposition 209 to inform the Committee's approach to meetings and engagement.

Attachments:

Brown Act Presentation and Guide Robert's Rules of Order Guide Los Angeles County Commission Manual

#### **III. DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

**3.** Discuss and take appropriate action on CFCI Advisory Committee leadership.

<u>Item 1</u>: Vincent Holmes (CEO-ATI) shared an overview of duties and responsibilities of a Chair and Vice Chair role

George Andrews moved for the CFCI Advisory Committee to have a Chair and Vice Chair. Derek Steele seconded the motion.

#### After the motion, members of the public were invited to give public comment. Public Comment: Bamby Salcedo, Devon Williams, Sophia Li.

After Public Comment, the motion for the CFCI Advisory Committee to have a Chair and Vice Chair was approved by the following vote:

Yes: 22 – George Andrews, Rafael Carbajal, Megan Castillo, Wesley Crunk, Cedric Nelms (as alternate for Victor Cyrus-Franklin), Betsy Lindsay (as alternate for Twima Early), Barbara Ferrer, Catherine Dingman (as alternate for Norma Garcia), Christina Ghaly, Eunisses Hernandez, Antonia Jimenez, Veronica Lewis, Ezekiel Nishiyama, Jared O'Brien, Jose Perez, D'Artagnan Scorza, Jonathan Sherin, Rosa Soto, Derek Steele, Reba Stevens, Dereck Smith (as alternate for April Verrett), Joseph (Joey) Williams Abstain: 0 No: 0 Absent: 0

Item 2: Nomination of the CFCI Advisory Committee Chair

Jonathan Sherin moved to nominate Veronica Lewis as Chair of the CFCI Advisory Committee. Veronica Lewis accepted the nomination.

# After the nomination, members of the public were invited to give public comment. Public Comment: Bamby Salcedo, Sophia Li, Norit Admasu, Mel Bailey II.

After Public Comment, the nomination of Veronica Lewis as Chair of the CFCI Advisory Committee was approved by the following vote:

Yes: 22 – George Andrews, Rafael Carbajal, Megan Castillo, Wesley Crunk, Cedric Nelms (as alternate for Victor Cyrus-Franklin), Betsy Lindsay (as alternate for Twima Early), Barbara Ferrer, Catherine Dingman (as alternate for Norma Garcia), Christina Ghaly, Eunisses Hernandez, Antonia Jimenez, Veronica Lewis, Ezekiel Nishiyama, Jared O'Brien, Jose Perez, D'Artagnan Scorza, Jonathan Sherin, Rosa Soto, Derek Steele, Reba Stevens, Dereck Smith (as alternate for April Verrett), Joseph (Joey) Williams Abstain: 0 No: 0 Absent: 0 Item 3: Co-Vice Chair Structure

Members discussed the possibility of shifting to a Co-Vice Chair structure, reflecting on Public Comment and discussion earlier in the meeting. The need for clarity in the roles and responsibilities of a Chair and Co-Vice Chairs was discussed, as well as the support and inclusion that a Co-Vice Chair model would bring to CFCI Advisory Committee leadership.

Derek Steele moved to amend the CFCI Advisory Committee officer positions to include two Co-Vice Chairs. Reba Stevens seconded the motion.

#### After the motion, members of the public were invited to give public comment. Public Comment: Bamby Salcedo, Sophia Li, Thomas Allen Smith, Kelli Poole.

After Public Comment, the motion to amend the CFCI Advisory Committee officer positions to include two Co-Vice Chairs was approved by the following vote:

Yes: 21 – Rafael Carbajal, Megan Castillo, Wesley Crunk, Cedric Nelms (as alternate for Victor Cyrus-Franklin), Betsy Lindsay (as alternate for Twima Early), Barbara Ferrer, Catherine Dingman (on behalf of Norma Garcia), Christina Ghaly, Eunisses Hernandez, Antonia Jimenez, Veronica Lewis, Ezekiel Nishiyama, Jared O'Brien, Jose Perez, D'Artagnan Scorza, Jonathan Sherin, Rosa Soto, Derek Steele, Reba Stevens, Dereck Smith (as alternate for April Verrett), Joseph (Joey) Williams Abstain: 0 No: 0 Absent: George Andrews

Item 4: Nomination of Co-Vice Chairs

Reba Stevens nominated Derek Steele as Vice Chair of the CFCI Advisory Committee. Derek Steele accepted the nomination.

Joseph (Joey) Williams nominated himself as Vice Chair of the CFCI Advisory Committee.

Member Castillo nominated Eunisses Hernandez as Vice Chair of the CFCI Advisory Committee. Eunisses Hernandez withdrew her nomination.

### After the nominations, members of the public were invited to give public comment. Public Comment: none.

After Public Comment, the nomination of Derek Steele and Joseph (Joey) Williams as Co-Vice Chairs of the CFCI Advisory Committee was approved with the following vote:

**Yes**: 21 – George Andrews, Rafael Carbajal, Megan Castillo, Wesley Crunk, Cedric Nelms (as alternate for Victor Cyrus-Franklin), Betsy Lindsay

Measure J Re-Imagine LA Advisory Statement of Proceedings Committee

(as alternate for Twima Early), Barbara Ferrer, Catherine Dingman (as alternate for Norma Garcia), Christina Ghaly, Eunisses Hernandez, Antonia Jimenez, Veronica Lewis, Ezekiel Nishiyama, Jared O'Brien, Jose Perez, D'Artagnan Scorza, Jonathan Sherin, Rosa Soto, Derek Steele, Reba Stevens, Joseph (Joey) Williams **Abstain**: 0 **No**: 0 **Absent**: George Andrews, April Verrett (and her alternate Dereck Smith)

**4.** Discuss and take appropriate action on CFCI Advisory Committee Bylaws.

Chair Lewis continued this item to the next CFCI Advisory Committee meeting to ensure there would be sufficient time and accommodations for discussion and participation.

Attachments: Proposed CFCI Advisory Committee Bylaws

#### IV. MISCELLANEOUS

#### Public Comment

5. Opportunity for members of the public to address the CFCI Advisory Committee.

Public comment: Devon Williams, Hector Ramirez, Nicole Brown, Sophia Li, Richard Corral, Mel Bailey II, Bamby Salcedo, Kelli Poole, Savonda Webber-Christmas, Norit Admasu.

Attachments: Written Correspondence

#### **Adjournment**

6. Adjournment of the CFCI Advisory Committee meeting on Thursday, September 22, 2021. The meeting adjourned at 6:23PM.